Professor Gungwu Wang, Laureate of the 2020 Tang Prize in Sinology

Professor Guagwu Wang

Congratulations to Professor Gungwu Wang (王賡武教授), former President of the University and Fellow of the Institute, for being awarded the prestigious Tang Prize in Sinology (唐獎漢學獎) 2020 in recognition of his pioneer work and contributions to the history of the Chinese world order, Chinese overseas, and Chinese migratory experience. More information is available at:

Prof. Wang will speak on the topic, “The High Road to Pluralist Sinology” at the 2020 Tang Prize Masters’ Forum co‐hosted by the Tang Prize Foundation and the National Chengchi University, Taipei on September 22, 2020, 2:00‐4:00 pm, Taiwan time.   Prof. Wang will be joined by distinguished scholars in Taiwan.
For more information, please visit: www.tang‐

The Tang Prize was established by Dr. Samuel Yin (尹衍樑博士) in December 2012 to encourage individuals across the world to chart the middle path to achieving their efforts in four major fields, namely Sustainable Development, Biopharmaceutical Science, Sinology, and Rule of Law. Laureates were selected on the basis of the originality of their work along with their contributions to society, irrespective of their nationality or ethnicity. The inaugural Sinology laureate was Professor Ying-shih Yu (余英時教授), while Professor William Theodore de Bary won the 2016 prize. In 2018, the prize was shared between Professors Stephen Owen and Yoshinobu Shiba (斯波義信教授).